American Gamedog Kennels

Subtitle

Forums

Forum Home > Health, Nutrition & Keeps > THE"'WAR"KEEP

AGK
Site Owner

For 25 years I have been a student of conditioning. I will share only my thoughts on

conditioning.There are many numbers of keeps developed by different fanciers over the years.

Each of these methods has both strong points and weak points. As most of the tried and true

keeps(TRIEDIN THE BOX) will produce very similar results.....within a range of realistic

expectations.A range of improvement on the order of 5 To up to 10% is about all the average

fancier can expect. And, unless a trainer is very observant and given a true understanding of what

he is seeing, the trainer may actually do more harm than good when trying to shape a dog! NO

MATTER WHOSE METHOD YOU MAY USE, IT IS NECESSARY TO UNDERSTAND

THE WHAT'S,WHY'S,AND HOW'S OF GETTING TOP PERFORMANCE FROM YOUR

ANIMAL. Too many times your dog would be better off if you took him directly off the chain

rather than trying to put him through a keep when you don't know what you're really doing!!! If

the dog has been wormed and in perfect health, you can reasonably hope to improve his

performanceby 8 or l0%o, and possibly up to 15% if you put super-maximum effort into your

training program. YOU MUST BE DEDICATED TO REACH THIS LEVEL OF SKILL IN

TRAINING DOGS FOR THE UPPER LEVELS OF COMPETITION!!!To go above a l5Vo

improvement requires years of experience and practically a God-given talent to see more and get

more out of your animal than the majority of fanciers in the game today.Just look back through

the old journals and reports. Look at the records of S.T.P.,REBEL KENNELS,VIETNAM, FAT

BILL, B.WILLIAMS,and the SOSOBOYS....to name a few of the toughest.

It is no accident that these men continue to be "THE MEN" to beat; and their consistency is no

coincidence! Hey, sure they have goods dogs and in somecases,they have dogs that anyone